WICHITA, Kan. – Drinking is certainly not for everyone. But, for those who include alcohol in their celebrations, police remind you to be safe and don’t drink and drive.

And, while officers across Kansas look for impaired drivers, KSN is calculating the cost. of DUI.

Court costs alone can go up to $2,500 and defense attorney fees can top $10,000 or more.

The experts recommend not drinking and driving for obvious reasons. In 2013 there were 102 DUI-related deaths Kansas roadways.

“If you are at .08 or more concentration of alcohol in your breath or blood … due to drinking within 3 hours of driving, you are incapable of safely operating a vehicle,” says Wichita attorney Dan Monnat. “If you are accused of DUI you may face a couple of legal issues.”

Monnat says the easiest answer to avoid paying for DUI, is to hand over the keys or call Uber or a taxi.

“Costs add up quickly because if you are accused of a first, second, third or subsequent DUI, what’s going to be involved is the possibility of jail time, community service, fines ranging from $750 to $2,500 and innumerable costs for treatment, (and) interlock devices on your car,” explains Monnat.

Costs for a DUI can vary by quite a bit, depending on where you are and what the circumstances may be surrounding the arrest for DUI.

With court costs up to $2,500 and bail costs up to $2,500, towing costs, insurance increases and other related costs can quickly top $15,000.

Uber technologies says it will have drivers available. And taxi services across the metro will be on duty as well.

“Best advice, just don’t drive if you are impaired,” says Monnat.

See full interview at KSN.com

By Craig Andres – KSN TV